Pistol Safety Course
Learn firearms safety, law and familiarization of handguns and ammunition, how to handle a weapon safely, and laws regarding use of firearms in self-defense. This one evening course will cover many do’s and don’ts for carrying a weapon for self defense. As part of the course those students who wish to later apply for a concealed handgun permit may take a written test, and upon successful completion of the test, a certificate will be provided that will allow you to apply for a Virginia Concealed Weapons Permit with the local court. No gun ownership required. If you have a gun do not bring it to class until the instructor instructs you to do so. Class open to any age 21 or older. This course meets one evening.
Location: Municipal Building
Cost per student: $55 residents/non-residents: $65 Each course limited to 10 students.
Instructor: Perry Bartels is a 22 year police veteran and firearms instructor. He is a certified instructor with the Virginia Department of of Criminal Justice Services. Must register 5 days in advance of the course. Fall Dates TBA.
Looking for a non-aerobic form of exercise which will improve your balance, reduce stress, and improve flexibility? Tai Chi may be the exercise for you. We are offering the Introductory Tai Chi Form
(9 Movements) in a 7 week series of classes.
This Tai Chi form is designed for beginners but will help more advanced students as well. The class will also include meditative breathing and Qigong, a series of powerful Traditional Chinese medical exercises to help maintain overall health.
Participants should wear loose fitting clothes & good walking shoes. For adults. All fitness levels welcome.
Location: Odd Road Community Center. Classes will be held Monday evenings 4:30-5:30pm
Cost: $57 residents; $67 non-residents
Instructor: Jack Fuller
Class minimum of 8.
Register 5 days before the session starts.
Fall Classes coming soon.
Boating Safety Course
Virginia now requires all operators of boats and
personal water craft to take a Safe Boating and Jet Ski Course. The Virginia Boater Education Course is
offered free at Poquoson Municipal Building, thanks to Poquoson Community Recreation and Coast Guard Flotilla 63- Poquoson.
Class Offerings for Spring of 2018:
July 23 and 25 6:00-9:30pm each evening.
(Must attend both sessions)
All registrations are taken online at
Class registration is free, however
pre-registration is required online, register early
space is limited.